Paymo
A project management tool for freelancers, agencies and small teams that combines tasks, time tracking, invoicing, budgets and resource scheduling in one app.
- Free plan
- Free trial
- Per-seat pricing
- Cloud
- Independent sources
- Verified 23 Oct 2026Sources are dated on this profile
- 5 sourcesLinked, typed and dated
- Independent third-party sourcesHow this profile was compiled
- Not an endorsementStack18 has not tested this product
What is Paymo?
Paymo is a work and project management platform for small teams of up to about 20 people that combines tasks, Kanban and Gantt views, time tracking, invoicing and online payments, expenses, budgets and resource scheduling. It has a free plan and three paid per-user plans: Starter ($5.90), Small Office ($10.90) and Business ($16.90) per user per month, with a free trial and no credit card required.
- Best forFreelancers and agencies that bill by time and need invoicing in the same tool
- Team size fitSmall teams
- PricingFree plan (3 clients, 50 tasks). Per user per month: Starter $5.90, Small Office $10.90, Business $16.90. Free trial, no credit card required. Free plan available.
- Main limitationFree and Starter cap clients and tasks at 3 and 50, and 6 and 300.
- AlternativesTeamwork.com, ClickUp, Wrike, Zoho Projects, Asana
Paymo overview: who it is for and what it does.
Paymo is built for service businesses that sell time: freelancers, agencies, creative studios, consultants and small project teams. Capterra's reviewer summaries describe it as solving scattered project tracking, inaccurate billable-hour logging and manual invoicing by combining tasks, timesheets, budgeting and billing in one workspace. Core features include task management, Gantt charts and Kanban boards, time tracking with timesheets and automatic time capture, invoicing with custom templates, recurring invoices and online payments, expense tracking and client reports. Capterra shows a 4.7 rating from 686 reviews, with 96 percent of 80 tagged reviews positive on project tracking features.
The plan ladder is capacity-based. Free includes unlimited time tracking and invoices, projects, three clients, 50 tasks, task views, static time reports, desktop and mobile apps and guest access. Starter ($5.90) lifts limits to six clients and 300 tasks and adds project templates and unlimited estimates and expenses. Small Office ($10.90) offers unlimited clients and tasks, recurring tasks, a Meta Kanban board, live time reports, active timers, proofing and versioning and 50 GB of storage. Business ($16.90) adds free onboarding and training, employee scheduling and workload, leave management, Gantt charts and a portfolio Gantt chart. Capterra lists 15 integrations including Google Calendar, Google Docs, Google Drive, Adobe Illustrator, Jotform, Make and Pabbly Connect.
Paymo's weaknesses are the ones typical of small-team tools. Capterra reports 41 percent negative sentiment on task management limitations and complexity out of 93 tagged reviews, and one reviewer says Paymo nearly tripled its prices as features were added. Reviewers also note it cannot set a price per word for invoicing, and a UK user must export invoices to QuickBooks for legal reasons. An older Capterra UK listing showed different monthly prices ($5.95, $11.95 and $24.95) and described Free and Starter as single-user plans, so confirm current limits and billing terms before buying.
Main problem it solves
Connects project tasks, tracked time, budgets and invoices so service teams can bill accurately and see project profitability without separate tools.
Typical customer segment
Freelancers, agencies, creative studios, consultants and small teams that bill by time and manage client projects.
Target users
- Freelancers who track time and invoice clients
- Agencies and creative studios managing multiple client projects
- Small teams that need workload and leave management
- Project managers who track budgets against logged time
Primary use cases
- Task and project management
- Time tracking and timesheets
- Invoicing and online payments
- Project budgeting and expenses
- Resource scheduling and workload
- Client proofing and versioning
What makes it distinct
- Time tracking, invoicing and project management in one product
- Free plan that includes unlimited time tracking and invoices
- Employee scheduling, workload and leave management on Business
- Proofing and versioning on Small Office
Paymo features explained.
Projects and tasks
- Tasks, Kanban and Gantt
- Task management with views, a Meta Kanban board on Small Office and Gantt and portfolio Gantt charts on Business.
- Plan limits
- Free allows 3 clients and 50 tasks, Starter 6 clients and 300 tasks, and Small Office and above unlimited clients and tasks.
- Recurring tasks and templates
- Starter adds project templates and Small Office adds recurring tasks.
- Guest access
- Guest access lets clients and collaborators view projects, including on the free plan.
Time, budgets and billing
- Time tracking and timesheets
- Unlimited time tracking is on every plan, with active timers and live time reports on Small Office.
- Invoicing and online payments
- Unlimited invoices, custom templates, recurring invoices and online payments are listed by reviewers.
- Estimates, expenses and budgets
- Starter adds unlimited estimates and expenses, with project budgeting listed by reviewers.
- Proofing and versioning
- Small Office adds proofing and versioning for creative review and 50 GB of storage.
Resources and administration
- Employee scheduling and workload
- Business adds employee scheduling and workload views for capacity planning.
- Leave management
- Business includes employee leave management.
- Free onboarding and training
- Business includes free onboarding and training.
- Desktop and mobile apps
- Desktop and mobile apps are included, even on the free plan.
Paymo pricing and plans.
Figures reported consistently by independent sources; vendor page not reviewed directly. Checked 23 Oct 2026 against Capterra · Software Advice · Capterra UK.
Pricing model
Per user per month by plan (Free, Starter, Small Office, Business), with limits on clients and tasks by plan; billing term not stated by sources.
Free plan
Yes
Free trial
Yes
Paymo plans and prices (USD)
Free
$0
Not applicable
Unlimited time tracking and invoices, 3 clients, 50 tasks, task views, static time reports, desktop and mobile apps, guest access.
Starter
$5.90 per user per month
Annual discount available
6 clients, 300 tasks, project templates, unlimited estimates and expenses.
Small Office
$10.90 per user per month
Annual discount available
Unlimited clients and tasks, recurring tasks, Meta Kanban board, live time reports, active timers, proofing and versioning and 50 GB storage.
Business
$16.90 per user per month
Annual discount available
Free onboarding and training, employee scheduling and workload, leave management, Gantt and portfolio Gantt charts.
Prices are from Capterra and Software Advice listings in 2026, which agree. Neither states the billing term, but Capterra lists discounts by plan frequency, so the figures are likely the annual-billing rates. An older Capterra UK listing shows $5.95, $11.95 and $24.95, and a reviewer says prices nearly tripled as features were added. Paymo's own pricing page was not retrieved as text. Prices vary by region.
Prices change. Confirm current plans and terms on the vendor's site before you decide.
Visit official website (external) ↗See alternativesPaymo integrations, API and platforms.
Important integrations
- Google Calendar, Docs and Drive
- Adobe Illustrator
- Jotform
- Make
- Pabbly Connect
- Desktop and mobile apps
Supported platforms
- Web
- Desktop
- Mobile
API
Capterra lists 15 integrations in total; API details were not reviewed.
Data import and export
Import and export options were not separately reviewed.
Reviewers note the need to export invoices to accounting tools such as QuickBooks in some regions. Individual integrations were not tested.
Balanced and sourced.
Each point cites a source. Editorial summaries are not customer reviews.
Strengths
- Time tracking, invoicing and project management are combined, which suits billable service work. [1]
- The free plan includes unlimited time tracking and invoices, desktop and mobile apps and guest access. [2]
- Capterra shows a 4.7 rating from 686 reviews with a no-credit-card free trial. [1]
- Business adds employee scheduling, leave management, Gantt and portfolio Gantt charts at $16.90 per user. [2]
- Proofing and versioning on Small Office supports creative review workflows. [2]
Limitations
- Free and Starter cap clients and tasks at 3 and 50, and 6 and 300. [1]
- Reviewers report task management limitations and complexity, with 41 percent negative sentiment in tagged reviews. [1]
- One reviewer says Paymo nearly tripled prices as features were added. [4]
- It cannot set per-word invoicing, and UK users may need to export invoices to QuickBooks. [1]
- It is aimed at small teams of up to about 20 people, so larger organisations may outgrow it. [2]
Best for
- Freelancers and agencies that bill by time and need invoicing in the same tool
- Small teams that need workload and leave planning at a modest price
- Creative teams that need proofing and versioning
May be less suited to
- Teams larger than about 20 people
- Teams that need deep task dependencies and complex project management
Alternatives to Paymo.
Teamwork.com
A project management platform built around client work, with budgets, time tracking and resource planning…
Explore →Related productClickUp
An all-in-one work management platform with unlimited members on its free plan, per-member paid plans and an…
Explore →Related productWrike
A work management platform with a free plan, Team at $10 and Business at $25 per user, and custom Pinnacle…
Explore →Related productZoho Projects
A budget-friendly project management tool with a small free plan and per-user Premium, Enterprise and…
Explore →Related productAsana
A work management platform for planning projects, workflows and goals, with a free Personal plan and paid…
Explore →Paymo compared with similar project management software.
Summaries come from each profile. This is a side-by-side aid, not a ranking.
| Product | Pricing model | Free plan | Views | Automation | AI features |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Paymo | Per user by plan; limits on clients and tasks | Yes (3 clients, 50 tasks) | Tasks, Kanban and Gantt | Recurring tasks and invoices | None documented |
| Airtable | Per editor per month; viewers and form submitters free | Yes (reported up to 5 editors) | Grid, kanban, calendar, gallery; Gantt and timeline from Team (reported) | Automations with monthly run allowances by plan | AI credits per editor, AI agents and app building |
| Asana | Per user per month by plan | Yes (Personal) | Multiple views; timeline from Starter | Rules; allowances scale by plan | Asana AI with credits by tier (reported) |
| Basecamp | Per user (Plus) or flat monthly rate (Pro Unlimited) | Free personal tier, one project | To-dos, schedule and Hill Charts; no Gantt | Automatic check-ins; limited automation | None documented |
| ClickUp | Per member per month by plan; AI add-on extra | Yes (Free Forever) | Many views; some capped by uses on lower plans | Automations with plan limits | ClickUp Brain add-on (separate cost) |
| Hive | Per user by plan; paid Hive Apps add-ons | Yes (reported limit of 10 members) | Tasks, Gantt and calendar views | Workflows on Teams; automations as add-on | AI Assistant; Buzz AI add-on |
Paymo head-to-head.
No published comparisons yet.
Join the discussion.
No published discussions mention this product yet.
Paymo questions and answers
What is Paymo?
Paymo is a project management platform for small teams that combines tasks, Kanban and Gantt views, time tracking, invoicing, expenses, budgets and resource scheduling.
How much does Paymo cost?
Capterra and Software Advice list Starter at $5.90, Small Office at $10.90 and Business at $16.90 per user per month, with a free plan. Annual billing discounts are available.
Is Paymo free?
Yes. The free plan includes unlimited time tracking and invoices, 3 clients, 50 tasks, desktop and mobile apps and guest access.
Does Paymo have a free trial?
Yes. Capterra lists a free trial with no credit card required.
Does Paymo include invoicing?
Yes. Paymo includes unlimited invoices, custom templates, recurring invoices and online payments, according to Capterra reviewers.
What is the difference between Paymo Small Office and Business?
Business adds free onboarding and training, employee scheduling and workload, leave management, Gantt charts and a portfolio Gantt chart to what Small Office offers.
How many users can Paymo support?
Software Advice describes Paymo as work and project management software for small teams of up to 20 people.
What are alternatives to Paymo?
Common alternatives include Teamwork, ClickUp, Wrike, Zoho Projects and Asana.
What integrations does Paymo support?
Documented integrations and ecosystem items include Google Calendar, Docs and Drive, Adobe Illustrator, Jotform, Make, Pabbly Connect, Desktop and mobile apps. API details: Capterra lists 15 integrations in total; API details were not reviewed.
What are the limitations of Paymo?
Free and Starter cap clients and tasks at 3 and 50, and 6 and 300. Reviewers report task management limitations and complexity, with 41 percent negative sentiment in tagged reviews. One reviewer says Paymo nearly tripled prices as features were added.
Which platforms does Paymo run on?
Paymo is documented as available on: Web, Desktop, Mobile.
When was the Paymo profile last verified?
Sources for this profile were last reviewed on 23 Oct 2026. 5 sources are listed under Sources, and prices and plans can change, so confirm with the vendor.
Where this information comes from.
- Paymo pricing 2026 Capterra Third-party Accessed 23 Oct 2026
- Paymo 2026: benefits, features and pricing Software Advice Third-party Accessed 23 Oct 2026
- Paymo pricing, cost and reviews (UK) Capterra UK Third-party Accessed 23 Oct 2026
- Paymo reviews (Ireland) Capterra Ireland Third-party Accessed 23 Oct 2026
- Paymo time tracking and invoicing GetApp UK Third-party Accessed 23 Oct 2026
Secondary-source profile. Vendor pages were not reviewed directly for this profile. Facts and prices are corroborated across independent third-party sources and may differ from the vendor's current pages. Confirm with the vendor before buying.
Paymo's own pages were not retrieved as text, so plan prices, limits and features rely on Capterra and Software Advice listings from 2026 that agree on prices. The billing term is not stated and older listings show different prices and limits. Confirm on Paymo's pricing page. Product behaviour was not tested.
Stack18 has not tested this product or received anything from the vendor for this profile. Editorial summaries of vendor information are not endorsements. Confirm details with the vendor before buying.
Evaluating Paymo?
Check the vendor's current pricing and terms, compare it with similar products, or read how others approach the decision. If off-the-shelf is not the answer, Stack18 builds around how your business works.
Logos provided by Logo.dev. Product names and logos are trademarks of their respective owners and appear for identification only; they do not imply endorsement.